An Open Letter to Bailey Caravans

Below is a complaint I sent to Bailey Caravans on 18th October 2012.

Having had no reply I asked for it to be escalated to CEO level on 20th November and have still had no response.

If the caravan is not collected before Christmas 2012, according to Bailey estimates of 10-12 weeks in the workshop, I will not have it back for the 2013 caravanning season starting at Easter. This will be 25 months after the fault was detected, during which time the caravan has been available to Bailey for 8 months that I have not been using it.

Hi

I have a Bailey Ranger 460/4 and during the annual service in February 2011 at United British Caravans in Newcastle upon Tyne it was found that there was a damp problem which would be fixed under warranty. I agreed that arrangements could be made for it to go back to the factory for the work to be done and the then service manager suggested that this would only take a couple of weeks.

Being somewhat sceptical, I contacted Bailey direct and received an email (possibly from xxx xxxxx) saying that on average a caravan is at the factory for warranty work for 10-12 weeks and suggesting I delay the work until I’d finished with the caravan for the season so that it wouldn’t infringe upon my enjoyment of already booked holidays.

I duly dropped the caravan off at UBC on 7th October 2011 so it could be returned for the work during the winter when I didn’t need it.

In January 2012 I contacted UBC to see when I was likely to be able to collect it to be told by the new service manager, xxxx xxx, that it hadn’t even been collected for the work yet.

He eventually gave me a date of 8th March 2012 for the caravan to go for the work, which I declined for the same reason I’d been advised by Bailey in 2011, as I’d potentially lose 12 weeks of my caravanning season.

I said I’d be finished with the caravan on 28th August 2012 and it would be available for the work to be carried out after that.

I spoke to xxxxx in the service department at UBC on 28th August to confirm that the caravan was now available and called again on Friday 12th October, having heard nothing again.

I’m now told that there’s a communication problem between Bailey and UBC and there are still no plans to collect the caravan.

I am very disappointed at the service I’ve received both from Bailey and UBC for the last 20 months  and ask that the caravan is collected for the warranty work urgently so I know I’ll have it back before I need it again for the new season in the spring.

This is the first Bailey caravan I’ve had and is the best I’ve owned in over 25 years of caravanning and I would love a new Orion but I’d be reluctant to consider another Bailey because of the customer service issues.

I look forward to your early response with an indication when my caravan will be collected for the work to be done.
Kindest regards
Christine Peel

6 Responses to “An Open Letter to Bailey Caravans”

  1. Peter D Atkins Says:

    We own a Bailey Pageant which in early 2014 was told it had hairline cracks allowing damp and therefore not suitable for use. It is in pristine internal condition and has two awnings etc. It transpires this model has had body faults but because it is out of warranty Bailey will not do anything..
    We have been caravanning for 47 years and are now being forced to stop our lovely pastime. Our recommendation to everyone. Steer clear of Bailey and ensure you don’t from any of the brands in their group. pda60@hotmail.com

    • Ian Bentlett Says:

      I also have an issue with the senior management at Bailey failure to respond to any reasonable request for their opinion once avenues with their customer service department have been exhausted . I bought my caravan second hand privately when it was two years old and have been refused transfer of my warranty despite a full service history with Bailey registered service dealer and registered in my name with CHRIS . I do not even wish to claim as to my knowledge the van is fine . Despite numerous emails in an effort to resolve with customer services I was very dissatisfied and therefore requested the assistance from Nick Howard the CEO on three occasions the last one being a registered letter but not even had an acknowledgement. This is terrible and ignorant service from Bailey and one can only assume they have no confidence in their product . I also wonder how many potential warranty claims they avoid with this type of intransigence . I would like to ask other opinions on this as I feel I have now given them every opportunity to resolve my issues and it is time to make them more public .

      • Philip Henderson Says:

        I too bought a new Bailey Pursuit in April 2014.from Flintshire Caravans Ltd. A few months after the first service I discovered water ingress running down the walls. I contacted Bailey and they said we should take it to an approved dealer and as we lived so far from N.Wales, they gave me the name of locally approved dealer,which I contacted and had it repaired under the ‘ Bailey 6 year Body Shell Integrity Guarantee’, covering water ingress and permanently sealed seams. Everything seemed OK, until we took it for a two year service to another approved dealer. He found more water ingress, This time along the wardrobe area and the side of the cooker. 60%. I understand my contract is with the dealer, but the warranty is given by Bailey and not the Dealer, My wife has asthma and does not want to bring on an attack because of mold and damp, which is extremely unhealthy even to those without asthma.
        I have spoken to Bailey Customer Service who now pass me back to the dealer and seem to ignore the warranty. It seems Bailey do not want to preserve any goodwill with there name. I feel that the caravan is medically unhealthy and not fit for purpose with the damp and mold and wonder if I should ask the Health and Safety Excecutive for advice as well as the Trading Standards.

  2. Lorna Boyne Says:

    We have unsatisfactory upholstery in our 2015 Bailey Unicorn 111. After only a little time the seats sink. We had it repaired under warranty a year ago, but when using in this years season the same thing happened. When my servicing agent contacted Bailey they said it was out of warranty and nothing could be done. Then after questioning this I was informed by ******** in the warranty department that the warranty is now In the hands of Belfield, their upholsterers, passed to them because of the repair. We are getting slung from pillar to post and I tried ringing the CEO on Friday at 1445 and was told that they all go home at 1500 and would be unlikely to answer the telephone! Although I have sent emails of complaint and on Facebook too I do not hold my breathe as lots of my caravanning friends told me they just don’t listen…

  3. Helen Says:

    Hi Christine, I know it’s 5 years ago but I’m wondering what happened in the end with your caravan? I’m having a similar problem with Bailey. They havent put the panels together properly when building it. There’s a square hole in the corner. Our retailer has missed it on 2 services but an independent one picked up on it when the damp reading was high!! I’ve been told it’s going to take 6-10mths before they can even look at it!!!! I’ve emailed bailey twice and they don’t seem to want to know either 😡😡😡

    After I blogged and made it go viral it was suddenly sorted. It took 23 months from the problem being spotted to getting it fixed and returned to me. Good luck with yours.

  4. gn &k crethar Says:

    we do agree; with the after sales service and long delays in warranty work our astro{ six months old} is nothing like the satisfaction and parts availability we had with our jayco


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.