Dear Tesco…

Having just returned livid from a shopping trip, I discovered that on the bottom of the receipt are the words

‘How did we do?’

Visit http://www.tescocomments.com and tell us about your shopping trip.’

Big mistake. Huge!

Dear Tesco

I am very disaappointed in the service I received at the Hexham store this afternoon.

The checkout asssistant didn’t respond to my “Hello”, neither did she offer bags nor help with my packing. When she’d finished I gave her a coupon for £5 off and whilst she was putting it through the till I realised I hadn’t given her my clubcard (she hadn’t asked if I had one), which is my Tesco Mastercard. I handed her cash for the transaction and explained that the Mastercard was my clubcard.

She put the card through the till and it was apparent that the transaction had gone onto the card. She gave me a piece of paper to sign, which I did, thinking that this was to authorise the cancellation of the transaction, but she said the transaction had already gone through and there was nothing she could no about it. Had I known this I wouldn’t have signed. She offered no apology of any kind and threw the cash back at me without even bothering to put it in my hand.

I explained that I hadn’t wanted to pay by card but she just said “oh well, there’s nothing I can do about it now, it’s gone through”.

I was pushed for time and there was a queue at the Customer Service desk so I had to leave the store without taking the matter further.

I choose to pay by cash in order to control spending and am now going to have to do a 30m round trip to the bank to pay the cash in so that I can pay my credit card bill. This will cost me time and fuel as well as inconvenience as I don’t often travel to where my bank is located.

I shop in various Tescos on a weekly basis and have never come across such appalling service in all the years I’ve been a customer.

For your information the data on the bottom of the receipt reads as follows:
10/02/12 14:26 5184 023 1140 9315

2 Responses to “Dear Tesco…”

  1. Crystal Jigsaw Says:

    I find this kind of bad customer service happening more and more these days. Whether they’re not getting the training beforehand or they’re just ignorant staff members remains to be seen, but when we’re spending money with stores as huge as Tesco, we expect a better service.

    CJ x

  2. Helen Dewdney Says:

    Tesco customer service is so useless. Thank you for visting my post where I explained how and why I took them to court. I won but people shouldn’t have to do this!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.